Dont Quit.

A few years ago, times were tough. Very tough. Tougher than I ever could have imagined. As I have mentioned before recently in a blog, 10 years ago, I never in my wildest dream would have imagined what the next 10 years were going to hold. I had no idea what life was going to make me endure. I sometimes wonder if I had known then, whether I would have quit the race before hand, perhaps its a good job I didn’t know?

Anyway, during one of the bleak days, when I could not bring myself to get out of bed and face the day, my stepdad who I lovingly regard as my Dad now, popped in to bring me some food. He also bought me a little card, to say he was thinking of me, and in that card was a bookmark type thing, a little laminated piece of paper. On it was the poem ‘ Dont Quit’ and a message from my Dad telling me to keep going and to not quit fighting the fight. It made me cry as I read it, and it makes me tearful to re read it now. To think at times I was so close to the edge. So close to throwing my hats in, and giving up. In fact, I tried several times, and perhaps only by the grace of God and some very beautiful friends I’ve managed to get back on the road of recovery and journey.

I was listening to some music tonight, that means a lot to me, songs that friends suggested or sent to me over the time, at random times but that meant the world there and then and still does. It made me think this poem, Dont Quit, author unknown.

And I guess it made me want to share it with you, whoever reads this, in the hope that, maybe someone out there who is contemplating quitting will read it, and hear it, and let it speak into their lives, so that wherever you are and whatever your situation is you can somehow find some inner strength to keep on fighting the fight. If life is tough for you right now, like unimaginably tough, do know, I am thinking of you and sending you love and hugs as I type/post this blog. Love Fragmentz x

Dont Quit

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will, When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill, 
When the funds are low, and the debts are high,
 And you want to smile, but you frown a bit, 
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is strange with its twists and turns,
 As everyone of us sometimes learns, 
And many a failure turns about,
 When he might have won had he stuck it out; 
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow,
 You may succeed with another blow.

Success is failure turned inside out, 
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt, 
And you can never tell how close you are, 
It may be near when it seems so far; 
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit, 
It’s when things seem worst
 That you must not quit.

Author Unknown


15 thoughts on “Dont Quit.

  1. Your words are so encouraging and inspirational… I caught myself tearful in a bit. It did reflect my past situation but thankfully I was over with it now.. But this post just touched my inner soul another time and I reckoned I needed to read something like this to inspire me to keep on going despite life’s trials and hardships…

    Thank you for sharing… and thank you for the poem!

  2. I am there in that place..I have lived in that place for over 40 years..I know that poem..i have it here laminated too…Sometimes I forget…Thank you..As always….

    • hey alejandro, thanks for popping by and letting me know you were here. sometimes i wonder whether the things that have inspired/moved me do the same for others, so its a risk sometimes to post something , but i’m glad it seems to have been good for people. take care x

Leave a Reply

