#ididnotreport

Just a little poem of sorts, written as my own thoughts to the #ididnotreport hashtag and tweets that flooded twitter a few days ago. Some incredibly brave tweeters, and a beautiful (but incredibly sad) thing to see so many people finding a voice. 

My own response is about being abused as a child, teenager, and then as an adult in an event that was totally seperate to any of the stuff i’d experienced as a young person. 

(its probably not the most poetically grammatically correct btw)

so here we are, my little poem 

#ididnotreport

 

#ididnotreport because who would have heard?

#ididnotreport because who would believe?

#ididnotreport because i could not utter a single word … 

#ididnotreport because it meant more punishment i’d receive.

 

#ididnotreport as I got older, for what would be the reason?

#ididnotreport as things moved on, but the memories remain,

#ididnotreport as years went by, and life moved into a new season,

#ididnotreport as i always felt i deserved the pain.

 

#ididnotreport because i had nothing left worth trying to save

#ididnotreport because nothing mattered to me any more 

#ididnotreport because i could never be that brave

#ididnotreport because even when i tried, someone always closed that door.


#ididnotreport for it had all gone plus more

#ididnotreport for everything i had left was taken

#ididnotreport for I had been shaken to the very core,

#ididnotreport for my whole life had  been broken. 

 

#ididnotreport but sometimes I wish I had. 

© Fragmentz


5 thoughts on “#ididnotreport

    • hey there JD,
      thank you for taking the time out to read, and to make a comment too.
      I’m sorry that you have had the experiences that you have had which mean that you are able to relate to the #ididnotreport poem/hastag.
      take care
      Fragz x

  1. Thanks for sharing a beautiful poem. I was not able to notice the twitter hashtag about it, though I wish I had. I guess my appropriate hashtag right now is #i did not see. It’s a sad sad thing not to see or not to be seen, especially when we have so much to #report from deep within. But knowing Somebody up there is always watching, I know that it is also appropriate to say #Somebody knew, and #Somebody saw, even if we #did not see, even if we #did not report it at all. 😉 Blessed day!

Leave a Reply

