its been 3 years.

I have no idea where this post is going, but, anyway …

my life is full of milestones. lots of them. lots of ‘its been x amount of years since this … or that’

today is one of those milestone days.

its been 3 years since i tried to take my own life. and failed miserably (well, at the time it was miserable failure)

i got my dates a little confused last week, with something else, but having clarified with my faithful old journal, today is the day. 3 years ago. wow. where have those 3 years gone? sometimes it feels like it was only yesterday, sometimes it feels like it was a long time ago.

and what an immense journey it has been. the journey beforehand was immense anyway, so i guess its been extra immense since.

Sometimes i try to put into words just how incredibly hard the last 5 years of my life have been. And i am never quite sure if i have managed to do it justice, or whether or not i just come across like some whining woman. I hope i dont. Something I think about quite often is how 5 years ago I had no idea how life was going to roll for the next set of 5 years. Same with 10 years ago. Who knew that 10 years ago the roller coaster ride of my life would bring me to this point.

Who could ever have imagined that when you are already at the very bottom, end of the rope, struggling to hang on anyway, that life could get 100 % worse. That one moment life meant one thing, and the next moment it meant another. I was already unwell, struggling with childhood memories, abuse, self harm, faith and God, big time, and then came the assault.

I wrote in a blog once, this blog, some time ago, about feeling like a glass vase, being broken in to pieces. And then each piece of glass being broken even more, into tiny shards. The smallest bits, until there were no bits left, just dust, sprinkled all over the floor, for people to trample on. Thats how i felt. It was all too much. Too too much.

i had to do something. to get out of it. on reflection, i now feel guilty. i didnt leave anything, for anyone. my head was in a spin. i was being irrational. even to this day, some very close family members do not know, because it would hurt them too much to.

I could not see any other way, i felt like life would be better with out life. i already had no life, so what was the point in breathing? I felt like everyone elses life would be better without me in it. i was too messed up, too complicated, too many issues, too much hurt/pain, too much for anyone to do anything with.

so i tried to die.

it didnt work. now i say that thankfully! it didnt work. i do believe here by the grace of god i stand (the story of how i was found is a whole other blog for another time)

thing is, its fair to say, despite it all, there were people who were able to do something with me. people who loved me. who cared.

who helped me pick myself up off the floor, and slowly turned the dust back into shards, and then into fragments. Ever so slowly and lovingly teaching me that life can be worth something. that life IS worth something. that I am worth something.

its been a long ride, and one that isnt over yet. but 3 years on and life is slowly turning. I am learning to live with myself, and some of the pain. I am learning to laugh again, to smile again, to have fun again. i am learning that I am never going to forget the past, but there is a way, and a time to move on from it. to not be beholden to it. that doesnt mean i dont have my dark days. i do. nights when i cant sleep because the nightmares have kept me awake, or i am so restless because something has triggered a memory. however, the intensity of it all isnt as intense. I dont want to die because of it!

the last thing to say that i am learning to do again, is to love and accept love. i am learning to love people and life again and accept that people and life love me.

I would like to say such a deep huge and heartfelt thank you to all of the people involved in my life the last however many years.

You have all had a part to play in the fact I am still here now. Thankyou.

thank you for everything you have done and do for me. you really have and do make a difference.

lots of love

fragz xx

19 thoughts on “its been 3 years.

  1. I can’t imagine what must have been going through your mind as you wrote but I can feel the memories of those moments. I’m so glad you are here to share your story and I’m hoping those fragments are on their way to becoming whole. Hugs to you for such a brave and heartfelt post.

    • hi SJ, thank you so much for taking the time to read, and to comment, such appreciated. I have drawn so much from meeting and connecting with people online. take care x

  2. I get you….I am on the same journey…you are further along.. I hope to one day catch up….it helps to know you are not alone..I’m glad you are here…As always…XOXOXOXO

    • hi there bongo, thank you hon, and my thoughts are with you too as you travel the similar journey. its tough isnt it. you are not alone though, for sure, lots of love x

    • hello!
      thank you for the warm thoughts, much appreciated.
      some people have suggested i blog too much, as in too much information, but i only blog what i am feeling. i cant help that.
      thank you also for taking the time to read, and reply, much appreciated. look forwards to reading more of your blog, it looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. By the grace of God indeed! You bless the world with the light you give..and you have a lot more to share…so glad you are with us…I will be prayihg for continued healing and peace for you. ~blessings

    • PANTS!
      hey you, thanks hon for taking the time out to reply. i havnt seen you online for a bit? maybe i keep missing you on the old FB. i am glad that you are glad i am still around, you know where i want me and you to go on a thursday evening in august before a certain festival!!!!! lol, hugs xx

  4. I am also surprised to hear it is three years since that day ……goodness what a lot you have done since then …Congratulations and thank you for sharing your thoughts and memories. Bless you !

Leave a comment